DJEMAOUN LAWYER, law firm in Paris, experienced in civil service law

Civil service law

What is civil service law?

Civil service law is a branch of public law and refers to all the rules applicable to the legal relations between civil servants, contractual civil servants under public law, trainees, temporary employees, collaborators of the public service and the public entities employing them (State, local authorities, public hospitals). These rules relate to recruitment, guarantees, ethics, career development, termination of career and disciplinary sanctions.

Civil service law differs from labor law in that the latter concerns people (public or private) bound by a private law contract. Litigation in labor law falls under the jurisdiction of the Conseil de prud'hommes, while litigation in civil service law falls under the jurisdiction of the administrative courts (administrative tribunal, administrative court of appeal, Council of State).

Unless otherwise stipulated (e.g. the exercise of the right to strike in public services), the labor code is not applicable in the civil service, even if certain general principles on which certain provisions of labor law are based are applicable to public employees (e.g. prohibition on dismissing a pregnant woman:  CE, ass., June 8, 1973, Dame Peynet: Lebon p. 406, concl. Mme Grévisse; an agent must receive a remuneration at least equal to the minimum wage: CE, April 23, 1982, Mme Aragnou: Lebon p. 151, concl. M. Daniel Labetoulle).

Some definitions

Contractual public servant:

 

  • non-statutory personnel working on behalf of a public service of an administrative nature (...) regardless of their employment". (TC, March 25, 1996, Préfet de la région Rhône-Alpes, Préfet du Rhône (Berkani), n° 3000, p.535, concl. M. Bernard Stirn).

 

  • Within the industrial and commercial public services (SPIC), the director of the service and the accountant of the SPIC have the status of public agent, if the latter has the status of public accountant (CE, February 27, 1987, Commune de Grand Bourg de Marie Galante, Lebon : Tables, p. 642 ; CE, December 10, 1986, Mlle Rousseau, n°38021 : Lebon, p. 278, concl. Mrs Sylvie Hubac).

 

  • "Any non-statutory personnel working for a public interest grouping managing a public administrative service is a contractual agent under public law" (CE, April 1, 2005, Syndicat national des affaires culturelles, n° 245088 : Tables pp. 799-925-931-945, concl. M. Stéphane Verclytte)

 

Civil servant: civil servants are people "appointed to a permanent full-time position and titled in a grade of the hierarchy of the State administrations, independent administrative authorities or public establishments of the State" (article 2 of law no. 84-16 of January 11, 1984 on statutory provisions relating to the State civil service). This is a permanent public employee, placed in a statutory and regulatory situation and not a contractual one, i.e. occupying a permanent position in the civil service.

Alert Launcher: :

 

Under Section 6 of Law 2016-1691 of December 9, 2016:

 

"A whistleblower is a natural person who discloses or reports, in a disinterested manner and in good faith, a crime or misdemeanor, a serious and manifest violation of an international commitment duly ratified or approved by France, of a unilateral act of an international organization taken on the basis of such a commitment, of the law or of the regulations, or a serious threat or prejudice to the general interest, of which he or she has personal knowledge."

 

Article 10 of the same law added a paragraph 2 to article 6 ter A of the law of July 13, 1983 on the rights and obligations of civil servants, as follows

 

"No civil servant may be sanctioned or subjected to a discriminatory measure, whether direct or indirect, for having reported an alert in compliance with Articles 6 to 8 of Law No. 2016-1691 of December 9, 2016 on transparency, the fight against corruption and the modernization of economic life."

 

 

 

 

Various legislative and regulatory texts provide a framework for civil service law, the main ones being :

 

For tenured public employees (civil servants)::

 

 

For contractual public servant:

 

The legislative and regulatory framework of public service law

The firm's services in public service law

Samy Djemaoun assists and represents individuals in all of the following procedures (ex gratia, hierarchical and jurisdictional appeals)

Recruitment Litigation:

  • Competition disputes: admission requirements, non-discrimination (sex, religion, political opinions), physical abilities, impartiality of the jury

 

  • Litigation during the internship: dismissal during the internship, dismissal at the end of the internship (professional inadequacy, physical unfitness)

  • Litigation of appointment: appointment for order

Litigation relating to employee benefits:

  • Equal treatment

  • Neutrality , Impartiality, probity and secularism

  • Discrimination

  • Training

  • Strike

  • Trade union freedom

  • Moral and sexual harassment

  • Deontology

​​

Career Development Litigation:

  • Disputes concerning staff reports, individual interview reports (referral to the joint administrative commission)

  • Promotional Litigation

  • Litigation on secondment, secondment

  • Litigation on change of assignment/assignment

  • Litigation of multiple activities

​​

  • Litigation related to service accidents

​​

  • Litigation related to leaves of absence

Litigation of disciplinary proceedings:

  • Disciplinary sanctions:

  • Warning

  • Reprimand

  • Reduction of seniority in step

  • Downgrading

  • Suspension with total or partial deprivation of remuneration

  • Mandatory Retirement

  • Rismissal with or without suspension of pension rights

 
avocat fonction publique paris
Avocat au barreau de Paris

Cabinet DJEMAOUN AVOCAT à Paris, expérimenté en droit de la fonction publique

Fonction publique

Qu’est-ce que le droit de la fonction publique ?

Le droit de la fonction publique est une branche du droit public et renvoie à l’ensemble des règles applicables aux relations juridiques entre fonctionnaires, agents publics contractuels de droit public, stagiaires, vacataires, intérimaires, collaborateurs du service public et les personnes publiques les employant (État, collectivités territoriales, établissements publics hospitaliers). Ces règles sont relatives au recrutement, aux garanties, à la déontologie, au déroulement de la carrière, à la fin de la carrière et aux sanctions disciplinaires.

 

Le droit la fonction publique diffère du droit du travail dans la mesure où le second concerne les personnes (publiques ou privées) liés par un contrat de droit privé. Les litiges en droit du travail relèvent de la compétence du Conseil de prud'hommes, ceux en droit la fonction publique relevant des juridictions administratives (tribunal administratif, cour administrative d’appel, Conseil d’État).

 

Sauf texte contraire (ex : l’exercice du droit de grève dans les services publics), le code du travail n'est pas applicable dans la fonction publique même si certains principes généraux dont s'inspirent certaines dispositions du droit du travail sont applicables aux agents publics (ex : interdiction de licencier une femme enceinte :  CE, ass., 8 juin 1973, Dame Peynet : Lebon p. 406, concl. Mme Grévisse ; un agent doit recevoir une rémunération au moins égale au SMIC : CE, 23 avril 1982, Mme Aragnou : Lebon p. 151, concl. M. Daniel Labetoulle).

Quelques définitions

Agent publics contractuel :

 

  • « les personnels non statutaires travaillant pour le compte d'un service public à caractère administratif (…) quel que soit leur emploi. » (TC, 25 mars 1996, Préfet de la région Rhône-Alpes, Préfet du Rhône (Berkani), n° 3000, p.535, concl. M. Bernard Stirn).

 

  • Au sein des services publics industriels et commerciaux (SPIC), ont la qualité d’agent public le directeur du service et le comptable du SPIC, si ce dernier a la qualité de comptable public (CE, 27 février 1987, Commune de Grand Bourg de Marie Galante, Lebon : Tables, p. 642 ; CE, 10 décembre 1986, Mlle Rousseau, n°38021 : Lebon, p. 278, concl. Mme Sylvie Hubac).

 

  • « Tout personnel non statutaire travaillant pour un groupement d'intérêt public gérant un service public administratif est un agent contractuel de droit public » (CE, 1er avril 2005, Syndicat national des affaires culturelles, n° 245088 : Tables pp. 799-925-931-945, concl. M. Stéphane Verclytte)

 

Fonctionnaire : sont fonctionnaires les personnes « nommées dans un emploi permanent à temps complet et titularisées dans un grade de la hiérarchie des administrations de l'Etat, des autorités administratives indépendantes ou des établissements publics de l'Etat » (article 2 de la loi n° 84-16 du 11 janvier 1984 portant dispositions statutaires relatives à la fonction publique de l'État). Il s’agit d’un agent public titulaire, placé dans une situation statutaire et réglementaire et non pas contractuelle, c’est-à-dire occupant un poste permanent de la fonction publique.

Lanceur d'alerte :

 

Aux termes de l'article 6 de la loi n° 2016-1691 du 9 décembre 2016 :

 

« Un lanceur d'alerte est une personne physique qui révèle ou signale, de manière désintéressée et de bonne foi, un crime ou un délit, une violation grave et manifeste d'un engagement international régulièrement ratifié ou approuvé par la France, d'un acte unilatéral d'une organisation internationale pris sur le fondement d'un tel engagement, de la loi ou du règlement, ou une menace ou un préjudice graves pour l'intérêt général, dont elle a eu personnellement connaissance.».

 

L'article 10 de cette même loi a ajouté à l'article 6 ter A de la loi du 13 juillet 1983 portant droits et obligations des fonctionnaires un alinéa 2 ainsi rédigé :

 

« Aucun fonctionnaire ne peut être sanctionné ou faire l'objet d'une mesure discriminatoire, directe ou indirecte, pour avoir signalé une alerte dans le respect des articles 6 à 8 de la loi n° 2016-1691 du 9 décembre 2016 relative à la transparence, à la lutte contre la corruption et à la modernisation de la vie économique ».

 

 

 

 

Différents textes législatifs et réglementaires encadrent le droit de la fonction publique, les principaux étant :

 

Pour les agents publics titulaires (fonctionnaires) :

 

 

Pour les agents publics contractuels :

 

L’encadrement législatif et réglementaire du droit de la fonction publique

Les prestations du cabinet en droit de la fonction publique

Maître Samy Djemaoun assiste et représente les personnes physiques dans toutes les procédures suivantes (recours gracieux, hiérarchique et juridictionnel)

Contentieux du recrutement :

  • Contentieux du concours : conditions d’admission, non-discrimination (sexe, religion, opinions politiques), aptitudes physiques, impartialité du jury

 

  • Contentieux du stage : licenciement en cours de stage, licenciement en fin de stage (insuffisance professionnelle, inaptitude physique)

 

  • Contentieux de la nomination : nomination pour ordre,

Contentieux relatif aux garanties : 

  • Égalité de traitement

  • Neutralité, Impartialité, probité et laïcité

  • Discrimination

  • Formation

  • Grève

  • Liberté syndicale

  • Harcèlement moral, sexuel

  • Déontologie

Contentieux du déroulement de la carrière :

  • Contentieux de la notation, compte rendu d’entretien individuel (saisine de la commission administrative paritaire)

  • Contentieux de l’avancement

  • Contentieux du détachement, mise à disposition

  • Contentieux du changement d’affectation/mutation d’office​

  • Contentieux du cumul d'activités

  • Contentieux liés aux accidents de service

  • Contentieux liés aux congés

Contentieux des procédures disciplinaires :

  • Sanctions disciplinaires :

  • Avertissement

  • Blâme

  • Réduction d'ancienneté d'échelon

  • Abaissement d'échelon

  • Suspension avec privation totale ou partielle de la rémunération

  • Mise à la retraite d'office

  • Révocation avec ou sans suspension des droits à pension

 
avocat fonction publique paris
Avocat au barreau de Paris