DJEMAOUN LAWYER, law firm in Paris, experienced in asylum Law

Asylum Law

A few words about the firm's philosophy

In Bambara (one of the national languages of Mali), one and the same term designates the words "foreigner" and "host": "dunan". Thus, the foreigner is not thought of as someone who is, at the outset, outside the social group in which he or she is situated, but as a guest to whom one owes hospitality.  It is in this conception of the stranger that the firm is situated.

The semantic paradigm is thus a determining factor (if not the only one) in the conception that everyone has of the foreigner, and thus shapes the right to asylum. Rather than talking about a "migration crisis", it would be more appropriate to talk about a "reception crisis" within the member states of the European Union.

Let us remember that "we are always strangers to someone".Tahar BEN JELLOUN, Racism explained to my daughter, Seuil, 1997

What is asylum ?

The word "asylum" comes from the Greek "asulon" and the Latin "asylum" designating an inviolable space because of the divine protection it enjoys. The asylum was thus initially conceived as a space endowed with particular qualities because of the protection that this space offered.

Today, asylum is still defined as a place of protection sought by the person who is deprived of it, but it is a legal protection.

There are 3 possible grounds for granting refugee status:

Conventional asylum, which is based on the Geneva Convention of July 28, 1951 relating to the Status of Refugees (which came into force on April 22, 1954), to which France is a party, means that a refugee is a person who "owing to a well founded fear of being persecuted for reasons of race, religion, nationality, membership of a particular social group or political opinion, is outside the country of his nationality and is unable, or owing to such fear is unwilling to avail himself of the protection of that country", it being understood that persecution may be the work of "non-state actors in cases where the authorities (...) refuse or are unable to provide the necessary assistance. ) refuse or are unable to offer protection", as provided for in Article L. 513-2 of the CESEDA.

 

The Geneva Convention of 28 July 1951 sets out four conditions for refugee status:

 

  • have left their country

  • Fear of persecution

  • reasons for persecution (five reasons: race, religion, nationality, membership in a particular social group or political opinion)

  • believe that they are unable to seek protection in their country

 

Constitutional asylum is guaranteed by the fourth paragraph of the Preamble to the 1946 Constitution, which states that "Any person persecuted because of his action in favor of freedom has the right to asylum in the territories of the Republic" and by paragraph 2 of Article 53-1 of the Constitution of October 4, 1958, which states that "However, even if the request does not fall within their jurisdiction by virtue of these agreements, the authorities of the Republic always have the right to grant asylum to any foreigner persecuted because of his action in favor of freedom or who seeks the protection of France for another reason". Constitutional asylum is codified in article L. 511-1 of the CESEDA, which provides that "the status of refugee is recognized to any person because of his action in favor of freedom".

 

2 conditions :

 

  1. It is necessary to have already undergone persecution

  2. Which result in an action in favour of freedom

 

Constitutional asylum is becoming increasingly rare as it overlaps with actions in favor of freedom that lead to persecution and are eligible for conventional asylum. Moreover, obtaining constitutional asylum is a national protection, recognized only in France. The signatory States of the Geneva Convention only recognize conventional asylum, which is an international protection.

 

Subsidiary protection is intended for foreigners who are threatened with persecution, but who do not fall within the legal framework defined by article 1, paragraph 2 of the Geneva Convention. This protection, considered "subsidiary" (since it is necessary for the foreigner to establish that he could not be recognized as a refugee on other legal grounds) is thus granted to the person who is at risk of being executed (and not only, as before the law of July 29, 2015, the death penalty, which implied a trial), torture or inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment, or who risks, in the case of a civilian, being exposed to a serious and individual threat to his or her life or person due to violence that may extend to persons regardless of his or her personal situation and resulting from a situation of internal or international armed conflict (Article L. 512-1 of the CESEDA).

The firm's services

Samy Djemaoun assists and represents asylum seekers in all the following procedures :

Procedure before the French Office for the Protection of Refugees and Stateless Persons (OFPRA) :

  • Application for protection from persecution on the grounds :

  • of race, nationality or membership in a social group

  • of religion

  • of political opinion

  • Application for protection on the basis of family unity

  • Application for protection under the mandate of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)

  • Application for subsidiary protection

  • Second request to OFPRA for a review of his asylum application

Procedure before the National Asylum Court (CNDA) :

  • Appeal against the decision of the Director General of OFPRA concerning an application for refugee status or subsidiary protection

  • Non-suspensive appeal against the decision of the Director General of OFPRA refusing an asylum application in detention (administrative detention center)

  • Appeal against the decision of the Director General of OFPRA withdrawing an asylum application

​Proceedings before the Administrative Court:

  • Appeal against a transfer order (Dublin III)

  • Appeal against the rejection of an application to enter French territory on the basis of asylum

  • Appeal against the decision of the Director General of the French Office for Immigration and Integration (OFII) refusing to grant material reception conditions

  • Appeal against the decision refusing the registration of an asylum application

  • Appeal against the refusal to issue the certificate of application for asylum

  • Appeal against the decision of OFPRA refusing to recognize the status of stateless person

avocat asile paris
Avocat au barreau de Paris

Cabinet DJEMAOUN AVOCAT à Paris, expérimenté en Droit d'Asile

Droit d'asile

Quelques mots sur la philosophie du cabinet

En bambara (une des langues nationales du Mali), un seul et même terme désigne les mots « étranger » et « hôte » : « dunan». Ainsi, l’étranger n’est pas pensé comme celui qui est, au départ, extérieur au groupe social dans lequel il se situe, mais comme un invité auquel on doit l’hospitalité.  C'est dans cette conception de l’étranger que s'inscrit le cabinet.

Le paradigme sémantique est ainsi un (si ce n’est le seul) facteur déterminant dans la conception que tout un chacun se fait de l’étranger, et façonne par-là le droit d’asile. Plutôt que de faire état de « crise migratoire », il conviendrait plutôt de parler « crise d’accueil » au sein des États-membres de l'Union européenne.

Qu’est-ce que l’asile ?

Le mot « asile » vient du grec « asulon » et du latin latin « asylum » désignant par-là un espace inviolable en raison de la protection divine dont il bénéficie. L’asile était donc, initialement conçu comme un espace doté de qualités particulières en raison de la protection que cet espace offrait.

 

Aujourd’hui, l’asile est toujours défini comme un lieu de protection recherché par la personne qui s'en trouve dépourvue, mais c’est une protection juridique.

 

3 fondements sont possibles pour accorder le statut de réfugié :

L’asile conventionnel, dont le fondement, la Convention de Genève du 28 juillet 1951 relative au statut des réfugiés (entrée en vigueur le 22 avril 1954), à laquelle la France est partie, entend par, le terme de réfugié, une personne « (…) qui (...) craignant avec raison d’être persécutée du fait de sa race, de sa religion, de sa nationalité, de son appartenance à un certain groupe social ou de ses opinions politiques, se trouve hors du pays dont elle a la nationalité et qui ne peut ou, du fait de cette crainte, ne veut se réclamer de la protection de ce pays », étant entendu que les persécutions pouvant être le fait « d’acteurs non étatiques dans le cas où les autorités (…) refusent ou ne sont pas en mesure d’offrir une protection », ainsi que le prévoit l’article L. 513-2 du CESEDA.

 

Quatre conditions sont ainsi posées par la Convention de Genève du 28 juillet 1951 pour avoir le statut de réfugiés :

 

  • avoir quitté son pays 

  • avoir des craintes de persécutions 

  • des motifs de persécution (cinq motifs : race, religion, nationalité, appartenance à un groupe social déterminé ou opinions politiques) 

  • estimer ne pas pouvoir demander la protection de son pays

 

L’asile constitutionnel est garanti par le quatrième alinéa du Préambule de la Constitution de 1946 aux termes duquel « Tout homme persécuté en raison de son action en faveur de la liberté a droit d'asile sur les territoires de la République » et par l'alinéa 2 de l’article 53-1 de la Constitution du 4 octobre 1958 qui dispose « Toutefois, même si la demande n'entre pas dans leur compétence en vertu de ces accords, les autorités de la République ont toujours le droit de donner asile à tout étranger persécuté en raison de son action en faveur de la liberté ou qui sollicite la protection de la France pour un autre motif ». L’asile constitutionnel est codifié à l’article L. 511-1 du CESEDA qui prévoit que « la qualité de réfugié est reconnue à toute personne en raison de son action en faveur de la liberté »

 

2 conditions :

 

  1. Il faut avoir déjà subi des persécutions 

  2. Qui découlent dans une action en faveur de la liberté

 

L’asile constitutionnel se raréfie puisqu’il recoupe les actions en faveur de la liberté aboutissant à des persécutions ouvrent droit à l’asile conventionnel. De plus, l'obtention de l’asile constitutionnel est une protection nationale, reconnue uniquement en France Les États signataires de la Convention de Genève ne reconnaissent que l’asile conventionnel, qui est une protection internationale.

 

La protection subsidiaire, est destinée aux étrangers qui sont menacés de persécutions, sans toutefois entrer dans le cadre juridique défini par l’alinéa 2 de l’article 1er de la Convention de Genève. Cette protection, considérée comme « subsidiaire » (puisqu’il faut que l’étranger établisse qu’il ne pouvait pas se voir reconnaître la qualité de réfugié sur d’autres fondements juridiques) est ainsi accordée à la personne qui risque de subir une exécution (et non plus seulement, comme avant la loi du 29 juillet 2015, la peine de mort, ce qui supposait un procès), la torture ou des peines ou traitements inhumains ou dégradants, ou qui risque, s'agissant d'un civil, d’être exposer à une menace grave et individuelle contre sa vie ou sa personne en raison d'une violence qui peut s'étendre à des personnes sans considération de sa situation personnelle et résultant d'une situation de conflit armé interne ou international (article L. 512-1 du CESEDA).

Les prestations du cabinet

Maître Samy Djemaoun assiste et représente les demandeurs d’asile dans toutes les procédures suivantes :

Procédure devant l'Office français de protection des réfugiés et apatrides (OFPRA) :

  • Demande de protection contre des persécutions en raison :

  • de la race, de la nationalité ou de l'appartenance à un groupe social

 

  • de la religion

  • des opinions politiques

  • Demande de protection en raison du principe de l'unité de famille

  • Demande de protection sous le mandat du Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR)

  • Demande de protection subsidiaire

  • Demande de réexamen

Procédure devant la Cour nationale du droit d'asile (CNDA) :

  • Recours contre la décision du directeur général de l'OFPRA relative à une demande tendant à l'obtention de la qualité de réfugié ou au bénéfice de la protection subsidiaire

  • Recours non suspensif contre la décision du directeur général de l'OFPRA refusant une demande d’asile en rétention (centre de rétention administrative)

  • Recours contre la décision du directeur général de l'OFPRA portant retrait de l'introduction d’une demande d'asile

​Procédure devant le tribunal administratif :

  • Recours contre un arrêté de transfert (Dublin III)

  • Recours contre le rejet d’une demande d'entrée sur le territoire français au titre de l'asile

  • Recours contre la décision du directeur général de l'Office français de l'immigration et de l'intégration (l’OFII) refusant le bénéfice des conditions matérielles d’accueil

  • Recours contre la décision refusant l’enregistrement d'une demande d’asile

  • Recours contre le refus de délivrance de l'attestation de demande d’asile

  • Recours contre la décision de l'OFPRA refusant de reconnaître la qualité d'apatride

avocat asile paris
Avocat au barreau de Paris