DJEMAOUN LAWYER, law firm in Paris, experienced in administrative police litigation

Administrative police

What is administrative police?

Administrative police refers to all measures taken by the administration to preserve and maintain public order. The exercise of administrative police power implies a preventive purpose, i.e. action by the administration before any infraction in order to prevent a disturbance to public order.

 

Administrative police are thus different from the judicial police, which have a repressive purpose and which intervene to punish an offence that has already been committed.

Public order

 

An administrative police measure thus aims to protect public order, which can be
 

  • material: public safety, public health (hygiene and public health), public tranquility (article L. 2212-2 of the general code of local authorities - CGCT)

 

  • immaterial: material public order increased by the dignity of the human person (public morality has been progressively absorbed into that of dignity)

 


General administrative police and special administrative police

 

The general administrative police is related to the protection of this public order without any specific activity being targeted and without any law delimiting its field of intervention.
 
On the other hand, we speak of special administrative police when public order is maintained through the regulation of various activities, precisely determined by law, according to determined procedures and by given public authorities.

 


The holders of the administrative police power


General administrative policing may be exercised by::

 

  • The Prime Minister within the framework of measures taken at the national level (CE, 8 August 1919, Labonne, n° 56377 : Lebon p. 737, concl. M. Louis-François Corneille)

  • The department prefect :

 

  • within the framework of measures whose scope exceeds the territory of a commune (article L. 2215-1 3° of the CGCT)

 

  • within the framework of its power of substitution if the maintenance of law and order is threatened in two or more bordering municipalities (article L. 2215-1 2° of the CGCT), in the event of a mayor's failure to act (articles L. 2215-1 1°, L. 2215-1 3° and 2213-7 of the CGCT)
  • dans le cadre de son pouvoir de réquisition (article L. 2215-1 3° du CGCT)

 

  • The mayor: at the municipal level with the power of municipal police (articles L. 2212-1 and following of the CGCT)

 

  • The president of the departmental council with regard to "police powers relating to this management, in particular with regard to traffic on this domain, subject to the powers devolved to the mayors by the present code and to the representative of the State in the department, as well as to the power of substitution of the representative of the State in the department provided for in article L. 3221-5." (Article L. 3221-4 of the CGCT)

  • The president of a public establishment for inter-communal cooperation (EPCI) with its own tax system, when it is competent in matters of sanitation, reception areas and stopping places for travellers, roads or housing, is transferred police powers in these matters (I A of article L. 5211-9-2 of the CGCT). The mayor may also transfer police powers in the following areas: safety of cultural and sporting events, external fire protection (article I B of article L. 5211-9-2 of the CGCT)


The President of the Republic is only residually invested with a general administrative police power (articles 13 and 16 of the Constitution of 4 October 1958).
 
The special administrative police can be exercised by the Prime Minister, the ministers, the prefect of the department and the mayor:

 

  • The Prime Minister :

 

  • Division of radio frequencies between those allocated to State administrations and those whose assignment is entrusted to regulatory authorities (Conseil supérieur de l'audiovisuel or the Autorité de régulation des communications électroniques et des postes) - and to set the general conditions for their use (CE, July 9, 2014, Société Bouygues Télécom, no. 367376: Tables pp. 654-774-775, concl. M. Xavier Domino)

  • within the framework of the state of health emergency (article L. 3131-15 of the public health code)

 

  • Ministers: for example, the Minister of Culture has the power to police the cinema (issuing operating permits for cinematographic performances) and the Minister of the Interior has the power of special administrative police for municipal casinos (opening a casino, authorized gambling, operating procedures)

  • The mayor: he is, for example, the holder of the special administrative police power for buildings in danger of collapse

 

  • The prefect of the department (prefect of police in Paris): responsible, for example, for policing foreigners and policing classified facilities or water

 


Competition between administrative police forces
 

In case of competition between two general administrative policies :

 

  • unless otherwise stipulated, general administrative police measures decided at the municipal level must comply with measures issued by the prefect or the Prime Minister. Similarly, prefectoral police measures must respect national police measures.

  • on the other hand, it is always possible for the mayor to specify or aggravate (without being able to alleviate) the administrative police measures taken at the departmental or national level (CE, 18 April 1902, Commune de Néris-les-Bains, n°04749: Lebon p. 275).

 

 

In case of competition between general and special administrative police :

 

  • In principle, the special administrative police takes precedence over the general administrative police (for example, the special police of electronic communications entrusted to the State excludes the intervention of the mayor under the general administrative police to protect the public against the effects of waves: CE, ass., October 26, 2011, SFR, n°341767, concl. M. Xavier de Lesquen)

  • However, a mayor always has the option, in compliance with the principles of necessity, adaptation and proportionality of the measure, of aggravating (and not reducing) the effects of a special departmental or national administrative police measure on the territory of the municipality, according to local circumstances (CE, sect., December 18, 1959, Société " Les Films Lutetia " : Lebon 693, concl. M. Henri Mayras). It may also derogate from the primacy of the special administrative police in case of emergency (in the matter of requisitioning vacant housing: CE, sect. 15 February 1961, Werquin, n° 38872 and 38873 : Lebon, p. 118)

In case of competition between two special administrative policies :

 

  • Some texts combine the intervention of two authorities invested with the same special administrative police power, as is the case, for example, for the closure of drinking establishments and restaurants (articles L. 3332-15 and L. 3332-16 of the public health code).

 

  • When no text envisages any arrangement between holders of two different administrative police powers, it is possible to apply the independence of legislation. The competition of administrative policies can sometimes be settled by retaining the strictest measure (CE, Ass, October 7, 1977, Nungesser, n°05064 : Lebon p. 378, concl. M. Guillaume).

 


Control of the administrative judge on the measures of administrative police

 

"Freedom is the rule, and police restrictions the exception" (conclusions of M. Louis-François Corneille on CE, August 10, 1917, Baldy, n° 59855). The administrative police regime is therefore a liberal regime. Thus, the judge's control will be complete (CE, May 9, 1933, Benjamin, n°s 17413, 17520 : Lebon p. 541, concl. M. Michel Franc) and will consist in assessing the legality of the police measure, i.e. whether the restriction made to the exercise of a liberty by an administrative police measure (general or special) is necessary, appropriate and proportionate, according to the circumstances of the case and with regard to the sole necessities of public order.


The administrative judge sanctions any prohibition of a general and absolute measure unless no less rigorous measure allows to ensure the safeguard of the public order.
 
The judge reconciles the exercise of freedoms (of movement, expression, religion, assembly, association, enterprise, etc.) with the need to preserve public order.

The firm's services in administrative police litigation

Samy Djemaoun assists and represents individuals in all appeals against administrative police measures (special or general) that do not meet the conditions of adaptation, necessity and proportionality:

 

Examples of appeals against administrative police measures restricting the freedom of trade and industry and the freedom of enterprise

  • Appeal against order to close an establishment (liquor store, restaurant, nightclub)

​​

  • Appeal against a by-law prohibiting street vending

​​

  • Appeal against the refusal to open an establishment for physical and sports activities

Examples of appeals against administrative police measures restricting freedom of movement

 

  • Appeal against an order for house arrest for the purpose of enforcing a removal decision

​​

  • Appeal against a residence order in case of postponement of the removal

​​

  • Appeal against a decision to impose house arrest

​​

  • Appeal against an individual administrative control and surveillance measure

​​

  • Appeal against a ban on leaving French territory

​​

  • Appeal against a decision to place and keep a person in a waiting zone

Examples of appeals against administrative police measures restricting freedom of demonstration or association

  • Appeal against a decision to ban a demonstration

  • Appeal against a decree dissolving an association

​​

  • Appeal against regulatory act limiting or prohibiting gatherings on the public highway or in a place open to the public as well as meetings of any kind

Examples of administrative police measures affecting the protection of personal data

  • Appeal against a regulatory act setting up a video surveillance system
     

  • Recourse to verify whether intelligence techniques have been implemented with regard to a person and, if so, to declare the illegality of their implementation

  • Appeal against a refusal to provide information about a person that may be included in a police file

avocat police administrative paris
Avocat au barreau de Paris

Cabinet DJEMAOUN AVOCAT à Paris, expérimenté en contentieux de la police administrative

Police administrative

Qu’est-ce que la police administrative ?

La police administrative renvoie à l’ensemble des mesures prises par l’administration en vue de la préservation et du maintien de l'ordre public. L’exercice du pouvoir de police administrative sous-entend une finalité préventive c’est-à-dire une action de l’administration avant toute infraction afin d’empêcher un trouble à l’ordre public.

 

La police administrative se différencie ainsi de la police judiciaire qui a une finalité répressive et qui intervient pour sanctionner une infraction déjà commise.

Ordre public

 

Une mesure de police administrative vise ainsi à protéger l’ordre public qui peut être :
 

  • matériel : sécurité publique, salubrité publique (hygiène et santé publique), la tranquillité publique (article L. 2212-2 du code général des collectivités territoriales – CGCT)

 

  • immatériel : ordre public matériel augmenté de la dignité de la personne humaine (la moralité publique a été progressivement absorbée dans celle de dignité)

 


Police administrative générale et police administrative spéciale

 

La police administrative générale est relative à la protection de cet ordre public sans que soit visée précisément une activité et sans qu’aucune loi délimite son champ d’intervention.
 
À l’inverse, on parle de police administrative spéciale lorsque le maintien de l’ordre public se fait par la réglementation d’activités diverses, précisément déterminées par la loi, selon des procédures déterminées et par des autorités publiques données.

 


Les titulaires du pouvoir de police administrative


La police administrative générale peut être exercée par :

 

  • Le Premier ministre dans le cadre des mesures prises au niveau national (Conseil d’État – CE, 8 août 1919, Labonne, n° 56377 : Lebon p. 737, concl. M. Louis-François Corneille)

  • Le préfet de département :

 

  • dans le cadre des mesures dont le champ d’application excède le territoire d’une commune (article L. 2215-1 3° du CGCT)

 

  • dans le cadre de son pouvoir de substitution si le maintien de l'ordre est menacé dans deux ou plusieurs communes limitrophes (article L. 2215-1 2° du CGCT), en cas de carence d’un maire (articles L. 2215-1 1°, L. 2215-1 3° et 2213-7 du CGCT)

  • dans le cadre de son pouvoir de réquisition (article L. 2215-1 3° du CGCT)

 

  • Le maire : à l’échelle de la commune avec le pouvoir de police municipale (articles L. 2212-1 et suivants du CGCT)

 

  • Le président du conseil départemental s’agissant des « pouvoirs de police afférents à cette gestion, notamment en ce qui concerne la circulation sur ce domaine, sous réserve des attributions dévolues aux maires par le présent code et au représentant de l'État dans le département ainsi que du pouvoir de substitution du représentant de l'État dans le département prévu à l'article L. 3221-5. » (article L. 3221-4 du CGCT)

  • Le président d’un établissement public de coopération intercommunale (EPCI) à fiscalité propre lorsqu’il est compétent en matière d’assainissement, d’aires d'accueil et terrains de passage des gens du voyage, de voirie ou d’habitat se voit transférer les pouvoirs de police dans ces matières (I A de l'article L. 5211-9-2 du CGCT). Le maire peut également transférer le pouvoir de police dans les matières suivantes : sécurité des manifestations culturelles et sportives, défense extérieure contre l'incendie (article I B de l'article L. 5211-9-2 du CGCT)


Le Président de la République n’est que résiduellement investi d’un pouvoir de police administrative générale (articles 13 et 16 de la Constitution 4 octobre 1958).
 
La police administrative spéciale peut être exercée par le Premier ministre, les ministres, le préfet de département et le maire :

 

  • Le Premier ministre :

 

  • Répartition les fréquences radioélectriques entre celles qui sont attribuées aux administrations de l'État et celles dont l'assignation est confiée aux autorités de régulation (Conseil supérieur de l'audiovisuel ou à l'Autorité de régulation des communications électroniques et des postes) – et de fixation les conditions générales de leur utilisation (CE, 9 juillet 2014, Société Bouygues Télécom, n° 367376 : Tables pp. 654-774-775, concl. M. Xavier Domino)

  • dans le cadre de l’état d’urgence sanitaire (article L. 3131-15 du code de la santé publique)

 

  • Les ministres : par exemple, le ministre de la Culture est titulaire du pouvoir police du cinéma (délivrance des visas d'exploitation pour la représentation cinématographique) et le ministre de l’Intérieur dispose du pouvoir de police administrative spéciale des casinos municipaux (l'ouverture d’un casino, les jeux d'argent autorisés, modalités d'exploitation)

  • Le maire : il est par exemple titulaire du pouvoir police administrative spéciale s’agissant des édifices menaçant ruine

 

  • Le préfet de département (préfet de police à Paris) : compétent, par exemple, en matière de police des étrangers et de police des installations classées ou de l'eau

 


Concours entre polices administratives
 

En cas de concours entre deux polices administratives générales :

 

  • sauf texte contraire, les mesures de police administrative générale décidées à l’échelle de la commune doivent respecter les mesures édictées par le préfet ou le Premier ministre. De même, le mesures de police préfectorales doivent respecter les mesures de police nationales.

  • En revanche, il est toujours loisible au maire de préciser ou d’aggraver (sans qu’ils puissent les alléger) les mesures de police administrative prises à l’échelle départementale ou nationale (CE, 18 avril 1902, Commune de Néris-les-Bains, n°04749 : Lebon p. 275).

 

 

En cas de concours police administrative générale et police administrative spéciale :

 

  • En principe, la police administrative spéciale prime sur la police administrative générale (par exemple, la police spéciale des communications électroniques confiée à l'Etat exclut l'intervention du maire au titre de la police administrative générale pour protéger le public contre les effets des ondes : CE, ass., 26 octobre 2011, SFR, n° 341767, concl. M. Xavier de Lesquen)

  • Cependant,  un maire a toujours la faculté, dans le respect des principes de nécessité, d’adaptation et de proportionnalité de la mesure aggraver (et non réduire) les effets d’une mesure de police administrative spéciale départementale ou nationale sur le territoire de la commune, en fonction des circonstances locales (CE, sect., 18 décembre 1959, Société « Les Films Lutetia » : Lebon 693, concl. M. Henri Mayras). Il peut également déroger à la primauté de la police administrative spéciale en cas d’urgence (en matière de réquisition des logements vacants : CE, sect., 15 février 1961, Werquin, n° 38872 et 38873 : Lebon, p. 118)

En cas de concours entre deux polices administratives spéciales :

 

  • Certains textes agencent l’intervention de deux autorités investies d’un même pourvoir de police administrative spéciale comme c’est le cas par exemple pour la fermeture des débits de boissons et de restaurants (articles L. 3332-15 et L. 3332-16 du code de la santé publique).

 

  • Quand aucun texte n’envisage aucun agencement entre titulaires de deux pouvoirs de police administrative différents, il est possible d’appliquer l’indépendance des législations. La concurrence de polices administratives peut parfois être réglée en retenant la mesure la plus stricte (CE, Ass, 7 octobre 1977, Nungesser, n° 05064 : Lebon 378, concl. M. Guillaume).

 


Contrôle du juge administratif sur les mesures de police administrative

 

« La liberté est la règle, et la restriction de police l’exception » (conclusions de M. Louis-François Corneille sur CE, 10 août 1917, Baldy, n° 59855). Le régime de la police administrative est donc un régime libéral. Ainsi, le contrôle du juge sera entier (CE, 9 mai 1933, Benjamin et syndicat d'initiative de Nevers, n°s 17413 17520 : Lebon p. 541, concl. M. Michel Franc) et consistera à apprécier légalité de la mesure de police à savoir si la restriction faite à l’exercice d’une liberté par une mesure de police administrative (générale ou spéciale) est nécessaire, adapté et proportionné, en fonction des circonstances de l’espèce et au regard des seules nécessités de l’ordre public.
 
Le juge administratif sanctionne toute interdiction d’une mesure générale et absolue sauf si aucune mesure moins rigoureuse ne permet d’assurer la sauvegarde de l’ordre public.
 
Le juge opère une conciliation entre l’exercice des libertés (d’aller et venir, d’expression, de religion, de réunion, d’association, d’entreprendre, etc.) et la nécessité de préserver l’ordre public.

Les prestations du cabinet en contentieux de la police administrative

Maître Samy Djemaoun assiste et représente les personnes physiques dans tous les recours contre des mesures de police administrative (spéciales ou générales) ne répondant pas à condition d’adaptation, de nécessité de proportionnalité :

 

Exemples de recours contre des mesures de police administrative restreignant la liberté du commerce et de l’industrie et la liberté d'entreprendre 

  • Recours contre arrêté portant fermeture d'un établissement (de débit de boissons et des restaurants, discothèque)

  • Recours contre un arrêté interdisant la vente ambulante

  • Recoure contre le refus d’ouverture d’un établissement d'activités physiques et sportives

Exemples de recours contre des mesures de police administrative restreignant la liberté d’aller et venir 

 

  • Recours contre un arrêté portant assignation à résidence aux fins d'exécution de la décision d'éloignement

  • Recours contre un arrêté portant assignation à résidence en cas de report de l'éloignement

  • Recours contre une décision d’assignation à résidence

  • Recours contre une mesure individuelle de contrôle administratif et de surveillance

  • Recours contre une interdiction de sortie du territoire français

  • Recours contre une décision de placement et de maintien en zone d'attente

Exemples de recours contre des mesures de police administrative restreignant la liberté de manifestation ou d’association 

  • Recours contre une décision d’interdiction d’une manifestation

  • Recours contre un décret portant dissolution d’une association

  • Recours contre acte réglementaire limitant ou interdisant les rassemblements sur la voie publique ou dans un lieu ouvert au public ainsi que les réunions de toute nature

Exemples de mesures de police administrative portant atteinte à la protection des données à caractère personnel 

  • Recours contre un acte réglementaire mettant en place un dispositif de vidéosurveillance

  • Recours tendant à vérifier si des techniques de renseignement ont été mises en œuvre à l’égard d’une personne et, le cas échéant, à constater l’illégalité de leur mise en œuvre

  • Recours contre un refus de communication d’informations concernant une personne et susceptibles de figurer dans un fichier de police

avocat police administrative paris
Avocat au barreau de Paris