DJEMAOUN LAWYER, law firm in Paris, experienced in urban planning law

Litigation in urban planning law and  ownership by public entities

What is urban planning litigation?

It is a type of litigation specific to urban planning law, characterized by derogatory rules from the classic administrative litigation and which essentially concerns litigation concerning urban planning documents and authorizations and pre-emption.

Some notions :

 

Urban planning document: a regulatory act, of varying degrees of precision, containing rules that are enforceable against public and private persons, which concerns, at the level of one or more municipalities, the allocation, use and occupation of land. Some examples of urban planning documents :

 

  • The Schémas de Cohérence Territoriale (SCoT) is a forward-looking document comprising "a presentation report (abolished for SCOT projects drawn up or revised after April 1, 2021), a sustainable development and planning project, and an orientation and objectives document" (article L. 141-2 of the urban planning code). The SCoT sets objectives for the development and planning of the territory (article L. 141-3 of the urban planning code), general guidelines for the organization of space, coordination of public policies and the enhancement of territories in terms of the urbanization of certain spaces and the establishment of facilities.

 

  • The carte communale is drawn up at the communal or inter-communal level, which delimits the sectors in which construction is authorized and those in which it is not, except in exceptional cases (article L. 161-3 of the urban planning code). It makes it possible to derogate from the rule of limited constructibility provided for in article L. 111-1 of the urban planning code, by allowing, for example, the creation of buildable sectors not located in the continuity of an existing urbanization, but does not include any regulations specific to each of the zones, contrary to the PLU.

 

  • The local urban plan (PLU) is drawn up at the municipal or inter-municipal level (we will speak of inter-municipal local urban plan - PLUi) and includes "a presentation report, a sustainable development project, development and programming guidelines, regulations and appendices". The PLU or PLUi determines zones with different destinations and therefore variable rules within each of them, provides for networks and public facilities, sets rules relating to land use and occupation easements, architecture, taking into account the environment and landscape.

 

Planning permission: an individual administrative act issued by a legal person under public law (the mayor, the prefect) allowing the realization of a project in conformity with the planning rules in force. There are several types:

 

  • The planning certificate has the "effect of guaranteeing to the person to whom a planning certificate has been issued, regardless of its content, a right to have his application for a building permit filed during the following eighteen months, examined with regard to the planning provisions applicable on the date of this certificate, with the sole exception of those whose purpose is the preservation of public safety or health" (CE, December 18, 2017, No. 380438: aux Tables, concl. Ms. Julie Burguburu). An urban planning certificate can be:

​​

  • "Informative" which provides general information (situation of the land with regard to town planning provisions, administrative limitations to the right of ownership, the state of existing or planned public facilities and the system of applicable town planning taxes and participations) without pronouncing on the constructability of the land

  •  "detailed" or "pre-operational" which allows to know if a given operation can be carried out on a given parcel

 

  • Declaration prior to building work is required for "constructions, developments, installations and works which, because of their size, nature or location, do not justify the need for a permit" (article L. 421-4 of the town planning code). For example, the construction of a wall whose height above the ground is greater than or equal to 2m is subject to prior declaration;

 

  • A building permit is required for "constructions, even those without foundations" (article L. 421-1 paragraph 1 of the urban planning code). For example, a building permit is required for new constructions not exempted from formality and not subject to prior declaration, for certain works 1) on an existing construction, except for maintenance or repair works (e.g.: as soon as there is a creation of a floor surface or a footprint greater than 20 m2), 2) on a building registered as a historical monument.

 

Certain works, installations and developments are subject to a development permit (articles R. 421-19 to R. 421-22 of the town planning code).

Some constructions are exempt, due to their nature, small size, temporary character in particular, from any formality and do not require any planning permission.

Finally, there are demolition permits which are only necessary when the buildings are subject to special protection (building listed as a historical monument, for example) or when a municipality has decided to introduce the use of such permits.

What is public property litigation?

It concerns litigation relating to the determination, delimitation, use, occupation and transfer of the property of legal persons under public law.

Public property is defined as all the goods and rights, "of a movable or immovable nature, belonging to the State, to the local authorities and to their groupings" (article L.1 of the General Code of the Property of Public Persons - CGPPP) as well as "to the other public persons under the conditions fixed by the texts which govern them" (article L.2 of the CGPPP).

Some notions :

 

Public domain: "Subject to special legislative provisions, the public domain of a public person mentioned in article L. 1 is made up of property belonging to it which is either assigned to the direct use of the public, or assigned to a public service, provided that in this case they are the object of a development essential to the execution of the missions of this public service." (article L. 2111-1 of the CGPPP).

Private domain: "The property of the public persons mentioned in Article L. 1, which does not fall within the public domain by application of the provisions of Title I of Book I, is part of the private domain. This applies in particular to land reserves and real estate used for offices, excluding those forming an indivisible whole with real estate belonging to the public domain." (article L. 2211-1 of the CGPPP). The rural roads and the woods and forests of public persons under the forestry regime are also part of the private domain (article L. 2211-1 of the CGPPP).

 

The purpose of road traffic offences is to punish violations of the integrity and use of the public road domain (freeways, national roads, departmental roads, streets and public squares and their accessories (article L. 2132-1 of the CGPPP). Litigation concerning road traffic offences is the responsibility of the criminal judge.

Contraventions de grande voirie are used to punish "breaches of the texts whose purpose is to protect either the integrity or use of the public domain not belonging to the road network, or an administrative easement mentioned in article L. 2131-1". The contraventions de grande voirie do not protect the entire public domain because movable property does not benefit from this protection, nor do certain buildings (cemeteries, religious buildings, government buildings).

 

Expropriation: a prerogative of public power devolved exclusively to the State, it is an operation consisting of a forced transfer of the property of a private individual or a legal entity (the expropriated) to an expropriating legal entity (the State, local authorities, certain public establishments, certain private individuals empowered by law or managers of a public service), in the public interest and in return for fair and prior compensation.

 

Expropriation differs from :
 

  • Nationalisation, which involves

    • a law

    • concerns, in addition to immovable property, movable and intangible property (shares) of companies.

 

  • Pre-emption, which corresponds to a preferential right to purchase a movable or immovable property put up for sale. It is therefore not a forced purchase.


Expropriation comprises an administrative phase (declaration of public utility, declaration of transferability - land survey and transferability order) and a judicial phase (transfer of ownership, determination and payment of compensation).

The firm's services in urban planning and public property litigation

Thanks to its experience in urban planning and public property litigation before the Council of State, the firm represents individuals and legal entities before all administrative courts (administrative tribunal, administrative court of appeal and Council of State) and civil and criminal courts:

 

Urban planning litigation :

  • Litigation of the approval or modification of a local urban plan ;

  • Litigation concerning town planning authorizations (town planning certificate, non-opposition to prior declaration, building permit, development permit, demolition permit)

  • Pre-emption litigation

Litigation of the property of public persons :

 

  • Litigation of state occupation authorizations (appeals against refusal of authorization, abrogation of authorization, refusal to renew, state occupation fees)

  • Litigation concerning the ownership of a property by the public entity

  • Litigation on the allocation of property

  • Litigation on the delimitation of the public domain

  • Litigation for eviction from the public domain

  • Litigation for road and highway violations (conservation violations)

  • Litigation on expropriation

avocat urbanisme paris
Avocat au barreau de Paris

Cabinet DJEMAOUN AVOCAT à Paris, expérimenté en droit de l'urbanisme

Contentieux de l’urbanisme et de la propriété des personnes publiques

Qu’est-ce que le contentieux de l’urbanisme ?

Il s’agit d’un contentieux propre au droit de l’urbanisme, caractérisé par des règles dérogatoires du contentieux administratif classique et qui porte essentiellement sur le contentieux des documents d'urbanisme et  autorisations d’urbanisme et de la préemption.

Quelques notions :

 

Document d’urbanisme : acte réglementaire, d’un degré de précision variable, comportant des règles opposables aux personnes publiques et privées qui concerne, à l’échelle d’une ou plusieurs communes, l’affectation, l’utilisation et l’occupation des sols. Quelques exemples de documents d’urbanisme :

 

  • Le Schémas de Cohérence Territoriale (SCoT) un document prospectif comprenant « un rapport de présentation (supprimé pour les projets de SCOT élaborés ou révisés après le 1er avril 2021), un projet d'aménagement et de développement durables, un document d'orientation et d'objectifs » (article L. 141-2 du code de l’urbanisme). Le SCoT fixe des objectifs de développement et d'aménagement du territoire (article L. 141-3 du code de l’urbanisme), d’orientations générales d'organisation de l'espace, de coordination des politiques publiques et de valorisation des territoires en matière d’urbanisation de certains espaces, d’implantations d’équipements.

 

  • La carte communale est élaborée à l’échelle communale ou intercommunale, qui délimite les secteurs dans lesquels les constructions sont autorisées et celles où elles ne le sont pas, sauf exception (article L. 161-3 du code de l’urbanisme). Elle permet de déroger à la règle de la constructibilité limitée prévue à l'article L. 111-1 du code de l'urbanisme, en permettant, par exemple, la création de secteurs constructibles non situés en continuité d'une urbanisation existante mais ne comporte aucun règlement propre à chacune des zones, contraire au PLU.

 

  • Le plan local d’urbanisme (PLU) est élaboré à l’échelle communale ou intercommunale (on parlera de plan local d’urbanisme intercommunal – PLUi)  comprenant « un rapport de présentation, un projet d'aménagement et de développement durables, des orientations d'aménagement et de programmation, un règlement, des annexes ». Le PLU ou PLUi détermine des zones avec des destinations différentes et donc des règles variables au sein de chacune d’elles, prévoit des réseaux et équipements publics, fixe des règles relatives aux servitudes d’utilisation et d’occupation des sols, à l’architecture, à la prise en compte de l’environnement et paysage.

Autorisations d’urbanisme : acte administratif individuel délivré par une personne morale de droit public (le maire, le préfet) permettant la réalisation d’un projet en conformité avec règles d'urbanisme en vigueur. Il en existe plusieurs types :

 

  • Le certificat d’urbanisme a pour « effet de garantir à la personne à laquelle a été délivré un certificat d'urbanisme, quel que soit son contenu, un droit à voir sa demande de permis de construire déposée durant les dix-huit mois qui suivent, examinée au regard des dispositions d'urbanisme applicables à la date de ce certificat, à la seule exception de celles qui ont pour objet la préservation de la sécurité ou de la salubrité publique » (CE, 18 décembre 2017, n° 380438 : aux Tables, concl. Mme Julie Burguburu). Un certificat d’urbanisme peut être :

  • « Informatif » qui fournit des renseignements généraux (situation du terrain au regard des dispositions d'urbanisme, des limitations administratives au droit de propriété, l'état des équipements publics existants ou prévus et régime des taxes et participations d'urbanisme applicables) sans se prononcer sur la constructibilité du terrain

  •  « détaillé » ou « pré-opérationnel » qui permet de savoir si une opération donnée peut être réalisée sur une parcelle donnée

 

  • La déclaration préalable est nécessaire pour les « constructions, aménagements, installations et travaux qui, en raison de leurs dimensions, de leur nature ou de leur localisation, ne justifient pas l'exigence d'un permis » (article L. 421-4 du code de l'urbanisme). Par exemple est soumis à déclaration préalable, la construction d’un mur dont la hauteur au-dessus du sol est supérieure ou égale à 2m ;

 

  • Le permis de construire s’imposent pour « les constructions, même ne comportant pas de fondations » (article L. 421-1 alinéa 1er du code de l’urbanisme). Par exemple, un permis de construire est nécessaire pour les constructions nouvelles non dispensées de formalité et non soumis à déclaration préalable, pour certains travaux 1) sur une construction existante, à l'exception des travaux d'entretien ou de réparation (ex : dès lors qu’il y a création d'une surface de plancher ou d'une emprise au sol supérieure à 20 m2), 2) sur un immeuble inscrit au titre des monuments historiques.

 

Certains travaux, installations et aménagements sont soumis à un permis d’aménager (articles R. 421-19 à R. 421-22 du code de l’urbanisme).

 

Certaines constructions sont dispensées, en raison de leur nature, faible importance, caractère temporaire notamment, de toute formalité et ne requiert aucune autorisation d’urbanisme.

 

Il existe enfin, des permis de démolir qui ne sont nécessaires que lorsque les constructions font l’objet d’une protection particulière (bâtiment inscrit au titre des monuments historiques par exemple) ou lorsqu’une commune a décidé d’instaurer le recours à un tel permis.

Qu’est-ce que le contentieux de la propriété publique ?

Il s’agit du contentieux relatif à la détermination, délimitation, l’utilisation, l’occupation et la cession de la propriété des personnes morales de droit public.

 

La propriété publique est définie comme l’ensemble des biens et droits, « à caractère mobilier ou immobilier, appartenant à l'Etat, aux collectivités territoriales et à leurs groupements » (article L.1 du Code général de la propriété des personnes publiques – CGPPP) ainsi « qu'aux autres personnes publiques dans les conditions fixées par les textes qui les régissent » (article L.2 du CGPPP).

Quelques notions :

 

Domaine public : « Sous réserve de dispositions législatives spéciales, le domaine public d'une personne publique mentionnée à l'article L. 1 est constitué des biens lui appartenant qui sont soit affectés à l'usage direct du public, soit affectés à un service public pourvu qu'en ce cas ils fassent l'objet d'un aménagement indispensable à l'exécution des missions de ce service public. » (article L. 2111-1 du CGPPP).

 

Domaine privé : « Font partie du domaine privé les biens des personnes publiques mentionnées à l'article L. 1, qui ne relèvent pas du domaine public par application des dispositions du titre Ier du livre Ier. Il en va notamment ainsi des réserves foncières et des biens immobiliers à usage de bureaux, à l'exclusion de ceux formant un ensemble indivisible avec des biens immobiliers appartenant au domaine public. » (article L. 2211-1 du CGPPP). Les chemins ruraux et les bois et forêts des personnes publiques relevant du régime forestier font également partie du domaine privé (article L. 2211-1 du CGPPP).

 

Les contraventions de voirie routière ont pour objet de sanctionner des infractions à l’atteinte de l’intégrité et à l'affectation du domaine public routier (autoroutes, les routes nationales, routes départementales, rues et places publiques et leurs accessoires (article L. 2132-1 du CGPPP). Le contentieux des contraventions de voirie routière relève du juge pénal.

 

Les contraventions de grande voirie répriment les « manquements aux textes qui ont pour objet, pour les dépendances du domaine public n'appartenant pas à la voirie routière, la protection soit de l'intégrité ou de l'utilisation de ce domaine public, soit d'une servitude administrative mentionnée à l'article L. 2131-1. » Les contraventions de grande voirie ne protègent pas tout le domaine public car les meubles ne bénéficient pas de cette protection, ni certains immeubles (cimetières, édifices du culte, bâtiments de l’administration).

 

Expropriation : prérogative de puissance publique dévolue exclusivement à l’État, il s’agit d’une opération consistant en un transfert forcé de la propriété d’un particulier ou d’une personne morale (l’exproprié) vers une personne morale expropriante (État, collectivités territoriales, certains établissements publics, certaines personnes privées habilités législativement ou gestionnaires d'un service public), dans un but d'utilité publique et moyennant une juste et préalable indemnité.

 

L’expropriation diffère de :

 

  • La nationalisation qui :

 

- implique une loi ;

- concerne, en plus des biens immeubles, des biens meubles et incorporels (actions) d’entreprises.

 

  • La préemption qui correspond à un droit préférentiel d’achat d’un bien meuble ou immeuble mis en vente. Il ne s’agit donc pas d’un achat forcé.

 

L’expropriation comporte une phase administrative (déclaration d’utilité publique, déclaration de cessibilité – enquête parcellaire et arrêté de cessibilité) et une phase judiciaire (transfert de propriété, fixation et paiement de l’indemnité).

Les prestations du cabinet en contentieux de l’urbanisme et de la propriété des personnes publiques

Fort de son expérience dans l’instruction de dossiers en contentieux de l’urbanisme et du la propriété publique devant le Conseil d’État, le Cabinet représente les personnes physiques et morales devant toutes les juridictions administratives (tribunal administratif, cour administrative d’appel et Conseil d’État) et civiles et pénales :

 

Contentieux de l’urbanisme :

  • Contentieux de l’approbation ou la modification d’un plan local d'urbanisme ;

  • Contentieux des autorisations d’urbanisme (certificat d’urbanisme, non-opposition à déclaration préalable, permis de construire, permis d’aménager, permis de démolir)

  • Contentieux de la préemption

Contentieux de la propriété des personnes publiques :

 

  • Contentieux des autorisations d’occupation domaniale (recours contre un refus d'autorisation, une abrogation d'autorisation, un refus de renouvellement, une redevance d'occupation du domaniale)

  • Contentieux de l'appartenance d’un bien à la personne publique

  • Contentieux de l'affectation d’un bien

  • Contentieux de la délimitation du domaine public

  • Contentieux de l’expulsion du domaine public

  • Contentieux des contraventions de voirie routière et de grandes voiries (infractions à la police de la conservation)

  • Contentieux de l’expropriation

avocat urbanisme paris

Les autres prestations du Cabinet

Le cabinet vous assiste également dans les domaines d'activités suivants :

 

Droit des étrangers

Fonction publique

Libertés collectives

Droit de propriété

Procédures disciplinaires

Avocat au barreau de Paris