DJEMAOUN LAWYER, law firm in Paris, experienced in immigration law

Immigration and Nationality law

A few words about the firm's philosophy

In Bambara (one of the national languages of Mali), one and the same term designates the words "foreigner" and "host": "dunan". Thus, the foreigner is not thought of as someone who is, at the outset, outside the social group in which he or she is situated, but as a guest to whom one owes hospitality.  It is in this conception of the stranger that the firm is situated.

The semantic paradigm is thus a determining factor (if not the only one) in the conception that everyone has of the foreigner, and thus shapes the right of asylum. Rather than talking about a "migration crisis", it would be more appropriate to talk about a "reception crisis" within the member states of the European Union.


Let us remember that "we are always strangers to someone".
Tahar BEN JELLOUN, Racism explained to my daughter, Seuil, 1997

What is the immigration and nationality law ?

The immigration law
 

According to article L. 110-3 of the  Code of Entry and Residence of Aliens and the Right to Asylum (CESEDA), "persons who do not have French nationality, either because they have a foreign nationality or because they have no nationality, are considered foreigners within the meaning of this code.

The foreigner is thus defined in a negative way: he is the one who is not a national.

The law of foreigners is thus the set of rules applicable to those who do not have French nationality on French territory. These rules may concern entry (visa, waiting area), residence (residence permit, family reunification) or removal (obligation to leave French territory - OQTF, deportation, expulsion, prohibition of stay on French territory - IRTF) with coercive measures (administrative detention, house arrest).

The law on foreigners differs from the law on asylum: it is not a request for protection (for example, because of persecution) based on the Geneva Convention. However, a rejected asylum seeker may, under certain conditions, obtain a residence permit.

It should be specified that a person who has been granted refugee status by the French Office for the Protection of Refugees and Stateless Persons (OFPRA) or the National Court of Asylum (CNDA) is a foreigner who has been granted protection.

The notion of foreigner must be distinguished from other notions:

 

A migrant: a person who moves, moves around (therefore does not settle) which can be the case of a seasonal worker

An immigrant: a person who has immigrated from his or her country of origin and has stopped migrating by settling in another country. An immigrant is not necessarily a foreigner because he or she may have acquired French nationality, even if he or she was born abroad (by blood law if at least one of his or her parents is French). There are therefore foreign immigrants and national immigrants.

A person of foreign origin: a person born in France of parents or grandparents who immigrated to France

A foreigner who remains on French territory regularly can, under certain conditions, obtain French nationality.

Nationality law

 

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) defines nationality as "a legal bond having as its basis  a social fact of attachment, a genuine connection of existence,  interests and sentiments, together with the existence of reciprocal  rights and duties." (ICJ, April 6, 1955, Nottebohm -Liechtenstein v. Guatemala).

The law of nationality thus covers all the rules relating to the attribution, acquisition and loss (voluntary or not) of French nationality.

There are two ways to become French:

By attribution :
 

  • Attribution of French nationality by filiation: "Is French, the child of whom at least one of the parents is French." (Article 18 of the Civil Code)

 

  • Attribution of French nationality by birth in France, this is the double right of the soil insofar as the child born in France is French if

 

  • His/her parents are unknown (article 19 of the Civil Code)

  • His/her parents are stateless (article 19-1 1° of the Civil Code)
     

  • His/her foreign parents cannot transmit his/her nationality (article 19-1 2° of the Civil Code)
     

  • At least one of the parents was born in France (article 19-1 of the civil code)

  • At least one of his parents was born in the territory which had, at the time of the birth of this parent, the status of colony or overseas territory of the French Republic and if the child was born before January 1, 1994 (article 23 of the law of January 9, 1973)

 

  • (Algerians) if at least one of his or her parents was born before the independence of Algeria, i.e. before July 3, 1962, and if the child was born in France after January 1, 1963 (including after January 1, 1994)

 

By acquisition:
 

  • Automatic acquisition: young foreigners born in France having their residence in France at the age of majority and their habitual residence "during a continuous or discontinuous period of at least five years, since the age of eleven" obtain French nationality (article 21-7 of the civil code) ;

   

Acquisition by declaration:

 

  • A minor born in France to foreign parents may acquire French nationality by declaration, from the age of sixteen (article 21-11 of the Civil Code)

 

  • Foreign parents may, by declaration, claim nationality for their minor child as soon as the child is thirteen years old with the consent of the child who must have resided in France since the age of eight

 

  • A person married to a French national may, 4 years after the marriage (this period may be extended to 5 years when the foreigner, at the time of the declaration, either does not justify having resided uninterruptedly and regularly for at least three years in France from the time of the marriage, or is unable to prove that his or her French spouse has been registered in the register of French nationals living abroad for the duration of their community of life abroad), acquire French nationality, subject to a community of emotional and material life and sufficient knowledge of the French language (article 21-2 of the Civil Code).

 

  • A person who is at least sixty-five years of age, who has resided regularly and habitually in France for at least twenty-five years and who is the direct ascendant of a French national (article 21-13-1 of the Civil Code)

 

  • A person in good faith who has considered himself or herself to be French and who has been treated and regarded as French by the French authorities may apply, by declaration, to obtain French status by possession of status, provided that he or she has enjoyed this status for the ten years preceding their declaration (article 21-13 of the Civil Code)

 

  • An adopted child (simple adoption), entrusted to the child welfare service or taken in by a public or private organization in France, may, by declaration and under certain conditions, obtain French nationality (article 21-12 of the Civil Code)

 

  • A child born abroad to foreign parents, of whom at least one brother or sister is French by virtue of his or her birth in France, who has been ordinarily resident in France for at least six years and who has received compulsory schooling in France in educational establishments subject to State control, may claim French nationality at the time of his or her majority (article 21-13-2 of the Civil Code)

 

  • A person who has lost his or her French nationality may, by declaration and under certain conditions, obtain it again without retroactive effect: this is called reinstatement in French nationality (articles 24-2 and 34-2 of the Civil Code in particular)


By decision of the public authority:
 

  • A person wounded "in the course of a mission or during an operational engagement" can obtain nationality because of "bloodshed" (article 21-14-1 of the Civil Code)

 

  • A person who has lost his or her French nationality may, under certain conditions, obtain reinstatement in French nationality by decree (article 24-1 of the Civil Code)

 

  • A person of full age (an exception exists) who has resided habitually and regularly in France for five years (this period can be reduced to two years or even waived) prior to filing the application, who has placed the center of his or her interests in France and who meets the conditions of "good life and morals" of assimilation into the French community and has sufficient knowledge, according to his or her condition, of the French language, can obtain French nationality (articles 21-15 to 21-27 of the Civil Code)


Finally, there is the possibility of withdrawing French nationality and losing it (by declaration, by observation or by decision of the public authority)

The firm's services

Mr. Samy Djemaoun assists and represents foreign nationals in all the following procedures:

Immigation law :

Procedure before the administration :
 

  • Application for a visa to the consular authorities

 

  • Appeal before the Commission of Appeal against the decisions of refusal of visa of entry in France (CRRV) against a case of refusal of visa

 

  • Application for a temporary visitor's permit, student, student-mobility program, job seeker or business creation, au pair, trainee or ICT trainee, employee, temporary worker, entrepreneur/professional, private and family life

 

  • Application for a multi-annual residence permit

 

  • Application for a residence permit

 

  • Application for a temporary residence permit

 

  • Application for a work permit

 

  • Application for exceptional admission to residence for illegal immigrants (regularization)

 

  • Application for a residence permit for Algerian nationals (modified Franco-Algerian agreement of December 27, 1968)

 

  • Application for a residence permit for Moroccan nationals (modified Franco-Moroccan agreement of 9 October 1987)

 

  • Application for a residence card for Tunisian nationals (modified Franco-Tunisian agreement of 17 March 1988)

 

  • Family reunification procedure


Jurisdictional procedures :
 

  • Making an appointment at the prefecture

 

  • Appeal against a refusal of a residence permit (first application or renewal)

 

  • Appeal against a decision to keep you in the waiting zone

 

  • Appeal against an obligation to leave French territory (OQTF)

 

  • Appeal against a deportation

 

  • Appeal against a ban on staying on French territory (IRTF)

 

  • Appeal against deportation for the purpose of refusing entry into the Schengen Information System (SIS)

Nationality law

Procedure before the administration :

 

  • Application for naturalization (granting, acquisition)

 

  • Application for reinstatement

 

  • Appeals to the Minister of Immigration, Minister of the Interior, against a decision of postponement, inadmissibility, rejection of acquisition of naturalization, reintegration by decree or authorization to lose French nationality

 

Jurisdictional procedures (administrative court, administrative court of appeal, Council of State):

 

  • Appeal against a refusal to issue a certificate of nationality

 

  • Appeal against a decision to postpone an application for naturalization or reintegration

 

  • Appeal against a decision of inadmissibility of a naturalization application

 

  • Appeal against a decision to reject the acquisition of naturalization or reinstatement by decree

 

  • Appeal against a decision to reject an authorization to lose French nationality

 

  • Appeal against a decree opposing the acquisition of French nationality

 

  • Appeal against a decree withdrawing French nationality

 

  • Appeal against a decree withdrawing French nationality

 

  • Appeal against a decision of the director of OFPRA refusing an application for recognition of statelessness

 

  • Collective effect

avocat droits des étrangers paris
Avocat au barreau de Paris

Cabinet DJEMAOUN AVOCAT à Paris, expérimenté en Droit des étrangers

Droit des étrangers et de la nationalité

Quelques mots sur la philosophie du cabinet

En bambara (une des langues nationales du Mali), un seul et même terme désigne les mots « étranger » et « hôte » : « dunan ». Ainsi, l’étranger n’est pas pensé comme celui qui est, au départ, extérieur au groupe social dans lequel il se situe, mais comme un invité auquel on doit l’hospitalité.  C'est dans cette conception de l’étranger que s'inscrit le cabinet.

Le paradigme sémantique est ainsi un (si ce n’est le seul) facteur déterminant dans la conception que tout un chacun se fait de l’étranger, et façonne par-là le droit d’asile. Plutôt que de faire état de « crise migratoire », il conviendrait plutôt de parler « crise d’accueil » au sein des États-membres de l’Union européenne.

 

Rappelons-nous qu’« on est toujours l'étranger de quelqu'un ».

Tahar BEN JELLOUN, Le Racisme expliqué à ma fille, Seuil,1997

Qu’est-ce que le droit des étrangers et de la nationalité ?

Le droit des étrangers

 

Aux termes de l’article L. 110-3 du Code de l'entrée et du séjour des étrangers et du droit d'asile (CESEDA), « sont considérées comme étrangers au sens du présent code les personnes qui n'ont pas la nationalité française, soit qu'elles aient une nationalité étrangère, soit qu'elles n'aient pas de nationalité. »

L’étranger est donc défini de manière négative : c’est celui qui n’est pas national.

 

Le droit des étrangers est ainsi l’ensemble des règles applicables à celles et ceux n’ayant la nationalité française sur le territoire français. Ces règles peuvent concerner l’entrée (visa, zone d’attente), le séjour (titre/carte de séjour, regroupement familial) ou l’éloignement (obligation de quitter le territoire française - OQTF, reconduite à la frontière, expulsion, interdiction de séjour sur le territoire français – IRTF) assorti de mesures coercitives (rétention administrative, assignation à résidence).

 

Le droit des étrangers diffère du droit d’asile : il ne s’agit pas d’une demande de protection (en raison par exemple de persécutions) sur le fondement de la Convention de Genève. Cependant, un demandeur d’asile débouté pourra, sous certaines conditions, obtenir un titre de séjour.

 

Il convient de préciser qu’une personne ayant obtenu le statut de réfugié par l'Office français de protection des réfugiés et apatrides (OFPRA) ou la Cour nationale du droit d’asile (CNDA) est un étranger bénéficiant d’une protection.

 

Il faut distinguer la notion d’étranger d’autres notions :

 

  • Un migrant : personne qui bouge, se déplace (donc qui ne s’installe pas) ce qui peut être le cas d’un travailleur saisonnier

 

  • Un immigrant : personne qui a immigré de son pays d’origine et a arrêté sa migration en s’installant dans un autre pays. Un immigrant n’est pas nécessairement un étranger car il peut avoir acquis la nationalité française, même s’il est né à l’étranger (par le droit du sang si au moins un de ses deux parents est français). Il y a donc des immigrants étrangers et des immigrations nationaux.

 

  • Une personne d’origine étrangère : personne née en France de parents ou de grands parents ayant immigrés en France

 

L’étranger qui se maintient sur le territoire français régulièrement peut, sous certaines conditions, obtenir la nationalité française.

Le droit de la nationalité :

 

La Cour internationale de justice (CIJ) définit la nationalité comme « un lien juridique ayant à sa base un fait social de rattachement, une solidarité effective d'existence, d'intérêts, de sentiments, joints à une réciprocité de droits et de devoirs », (CIJ, 6 avril 1955, Nottebohm –Liechtenstein c. Guatemala).

 

Le droit de la nationalité recouvre ainsi l’ensemble des règles relatives à l’attribution, l’acquisition et la perte (volontaire ou non) de la nationalité française.

 

 

Il y a deux voies pour devenir français(e) :

Par attribution :

 

  • Attribution de la nationalité française par filiation : « Est Français, l'enfant dont l'un des parents au moins est Français. » (article 18 du code civil)

 

  • Attribution de la nationalité française par naissance en France, il s’agit du double droit du sol dans la mesure où l’enfant né en France est français si

 

  • Ses parents sont inconnus  (article 19 du code civil)

  • Ses parents sont apatrides (article 19-1 1° du code civil)

  • Ses parents étrangers ne peuvent lui transmettre sa nationalité (article 19-1 2° du code civil)

  • L'un des parents au moins y est né en France (article 19-1 du code civil)

  • Un au moins de ses parents est né sur le territoire qui avait, au moment de la naissance de ce parent, le statut de colonie ou de territoire d'outre-mer de la République française et si l’enfant est né avant le 1er janvier 1994 (article 23 de la loi du 9 janvier 1973)

  • (Algériens) si au moins un de ses parents est né avant l'indépendance de l'Algérie, c'est-à-dire avant le 3 juillet 1962 et si l’enfant est né en France après le 1er janvier 1963 (y compris après le 1er janvier 1994)

 

Par acquisition :

 

  • L’acquisition automatique : les jeunes étrangers nés en France ayant leur résidence en France à la majorité et leur résidence habituelle « pendant une période continue ou discontinue d'au moins cinq ans, depuis l'âge de onze ans » obtiennent la nationalité française (article 21-7 du code civil) ;

 

  • L’acquisition par déclaration :

 

  • Un mineur né en France de parents étrangers peut acquérir la nationalité française par déclaration, dès l'âge de seize ans (article 21-11 du code civil)

 

  • Les parents étrangers peuvent, par déclaration, réclamer la nationalité pour leur enfant mineur dès lors que celui est âgé de treize ans avec le consentement de celui qui doit résider en France depuis de l'âge de huit ans

 

  • Une personne mariée avec un ressortissant français peut, 4 ans après le mariage (ce délai peut être porté à 5 ans lorsque l'étranger, au moment de la déclaration, soit ne justifie pas avoir résidé de manière ininterrompue et régulière pendant au moins trois ans en France à compter du mariage, soit n'est pas en mesure d'apporter la preuve que son conjoint français a été inscrit pendant la durée de leur communauté de vie à l'étranger au registre des Français établis hors de France), acquérir la nationalité française, sous réserve d’une communauté de vie affective et matérielle et d’une connaissance suffisante de la langue française (article 21-2 du code civil).

 

  • Une personne âgée de soixante-cinq ans au moins, résidant régulièrement et habituellement en France depuis au moins vingt-cinq ans et qui est l’ascendant direct d'un ressortissant français (article 21-13-1 du code civil)

 

  • Une personne de bonne foi s’étant considérée comme française et qui a été traitée et regardée comme française par les autorités françaises peut demander, par déclaration, obtenir la qualité de français par possession d'état, à condition d’avoir joui de cette dernière pendant les dix années précédant leur déclaration (article 21-13 du code civil)

 

  • Un enfant adopté (adoption simple), confié au service de l'aide sociale à l'enfance ou recueilli en France et élevé par un organisme public ou privé, peut, par déclaration et sous certaines conditions, obtenir la nationalité française (article 21-12 du code civil)

 

  • Un enfant né à l'étranger de parents étrangers dont au moins un frère ou sœur est français en raison de sa naissance en France, ayant résidé habituellement en France depuis au moins l'âge de six ans et ayant suivi une scolarité obligatoire en France dans des établissements d'enseignement soumis au contrôle de l'État, pourra réclamer la nationalité française à sa majorité (article 21-13-2 du code civil)

 

  • Une personne ayant perdu sa nationalité française peut, par déclaration et sous certaines conditions, l’obtenir de nouveau sans effet rétroactif : il s’agit de la réintégration dans la nationalité française (article 24-2 et 34-2 du code civil notamment)

Par décision de l’autorité publique :

 

  • Une personne blessée « en mission au cours ou à l'occasion d'un engagement opérationnel » peut obtenir la nationalité en raison « du sang versé » (article 21-14-1 du code civil)

 

  • Une personne ayant perdu sa nationalité française peut, sous certaines conditions, obtenir sa réintégration dans la nationalité française par décret (article 24-1 du code civil)

 

  • Une personne majeure (une exception existe) ayant résidé habituellement et régulièrement en France pendant les cinq années (possibilité de réduction à deux ans voire dispense de ce délai de « stage ») qui précèdent le dépôt de la demande, qui a placé le centre de ses intérêts en France et qui répond notamment à des conditions de « bonnes vie et mœurs » d’assimilation à la communauté française et dispose d’une connaissance suffisante, selon sa condition, de la langue française, peut obtenir la nationalité française (articles 21-15 à 21-27 du code civil )

 

Il existe enfin une possibilité de retrait de la nationalité française et de perte de celle-ci (par déclaration, par constat ou par décision de l'autorité publique)

Les prestations du cabinet

Maître Samy Djemaoun assiste et représente les ressortissants étrangers dans toutes les procédures suivantes :

Droit des étrangers :

Procédure devant l’administration :

  • Demande de visa auprès des autorités consulaires

  • Recours devant la Commission de recours contre les décisions de refus de visa d'entrée en France (CRRV) contre un cas de refus de visa

  • Demande de titre de séjour temporaire visiteur, étudiant, étudiant-programme de mobilité, recherche d'emploi ou création d'entreprise, jeune au pair, stagiaire ou stagiaire ICT, salarié, travailleur temporaire, entrepreneur/profession libérale, vie privée et familiale

  • Demande de carte de séjour pluriannuelle

  • Demande de carte de résident

  • Demande d’autorisation provisoire de séjour 

  • Demande d’autorisation de travail

  • Demande d’admission exceptionnelle au séjour pour les étrangers en situation irrégulière (régularisation)

  • Demande de carte de séjour pour le ressortissants algériens (accord franco-algérien du 27 décembre 1968 modifié) 

  • Demande de carte de séjour pour les ressortissants marocains (accord franco-marocain 9 octobre 1987 modifié)

  • Demande de carte de séjour pour ressortissants tunisiens (accord franco-tunisien 17 mars 1988 modifié)

  • Procédure de regroupement familial

Procédures juridictionnelles :

  • Prise de rendez-vous en préfecture

  • Recours contre un refus de titre de séjour (première demande ou renouvellement)

  • Recours contre une décision de maintien en zone d’attente

  • Recours contre une obligation de quitter le territoire français (OQTF)

  • Recours contre une expulsion

  • Recours contre une interdiction de séjour sur le territoire français (IRTF)

  • Recours contre une reconduite à la frontière pour signalement aux fins de non-admission au Système d'information Schengen (SIS)

​​Droit de la nationalité :

Procédure devant l’administration :

  • Demande de naturalisation (attribution, acquisition)

  • Demande de réintégration

  • Recours contre devant le ministre chargé de l’immigration, ministre de l’intérieur, contre une décision d’ajournement, d’irrecevabilité, de rejet d'acquisition de naturalisation, de réintégration par décret ou d’une autorisation de perdre la nationalité française

Procédures juridictionnelles (tribunal administratif, cour administrative d’appel, Conseil d’État) :

  • Recours contre un refus de délivrance d'un certificat de nationalité

  • Recours contre une décision d’ajournement d’une demande de naturalisation ou de réintégration

  • Recours contre une décision d'irrecevabilité d’une demande de naturalisation

  • Recours contre une décision de rejet d'acquisition de naturalisation ou de réintégration par décret

  • Recours contre une décision de rejet d’une autorisation de perdre la nationalité française

  • Recours contre un décret s’opposant à l’acquisition de la nationalité française

  • Recours contre un décret portant retrait de la nationalité française

  • Recours contre un décret portant déchéance de la nationalité française

  • Recours contre une décision du directeur de l’OFPRA refusant une demande de reconnaissance de la qualité d’apatride

  • Effet collectif

avocat droits des étrangers paris
Avocat au barreau de Paris